The Housing Authority of the City of Las Cruces (HACLC) was created as an agent of the City of Las Cruces, New Mexico, on November 4, 1961. Resolution No. CC-HA-1 declared the need for a Housing Authority in the City of Las Cruces, New Mexico. The City Commission of the City of Las Cruces delegated authority to HACLC  to construct, maintain, operate and manage any housing project or projects of the City of Las Cruces, and all other powers conferred on the City of Las Cruces, by the Municipal Housing Law, except the powers to issue bonds (bonds, notes, interim certificates, departures, or other obligations) and acquire real property.

In July 13, 1999, Dona Ana County contracted with HACLC to operate and provide housing for residents in the Doña Ana County for the purpose of more efficiently addressing the shortage of safe, sanitary dwelling accommodations available at rents that persons of low and moderate income could afford within the geographical limits of the County, including the corporate limits of the City. This joined Housing Authority became an independent public agency having all of the powers of a public body corporation that provides affordable housing and related services in the City of Las Cruces and Doña Ana County except the areas where there is an established housing authority or housing agency. To facilitate the merger, the Board of County Commissioners and the Las Cruces City Council mutually approved the enlargement of HACLC’s area of operation to include the geographical limits of the County. On January 1, 2012, the HACLA and the Housing Authority of Doña Ana County officially became known as the Mesilla Valley Public Housing Authority (MVPHA).

MVPHA is governed by a five-member Board of Commissioners, two of whom are appointed by the Mayor of the City of Las Cruces and two of whom are appointed by the Board of Doña Ana County Commissioners. The fifth member of MVPHA’s Board is a public housing resident. The Executive Director reports to the Board of Commissioners.

Currently, MVPHA employs 25 full-time professionals in five different departments: Public Housing Programs, Accounting, Modernization and Maintenance, Housing Choice Vouchers, and Human Resources/Administration.